23rd September 1953
Lord and Lady
Brookeborough officially opened Kilkeel Intermediate
The Dining Rooms and a kitchen were completed.
A new pathway was built down to the School. Cars still had to come from the Harbour Road.
Room 42, formerly a Science Classroom was built. This room is now a History Classroom.
The first ‘A-Level’ courses were taught in KHS.
KHS Girls’ Hockey Team was victorious in the Ulster Junior Cup.
The Assembly Hall and
Room 41 were built.
The very first “mobile” arrived.
Kilkeel Intermediate School was renamed Kilkeel High School.
Knockchree Avenue was extended past the school.
The two woodwork rooms and a Biology Lab were built.
Mr. Macauley retired as Principal of KHS after 28 years.
Mr. R. Anderson became the new Principal.
1st October 1972
Mr. W.D. Cunningham joined the staff of Kilkeel High School.
The School got a new car park and driveway from Knockchree Avenue
1972 (to present)
The first ‘London Experience’ for Third Form.
In 1972 the trip cost £30!!
The first edition of the school news sheet KRONIK was published.
The performance of the school’s first Musical.
‘HMS – Pinafore’
Rev. D.J. McGaughey was elected as the Chairman of the Board of Governors.
Copyright © Kilkeel High School 2005